Buckman named 2009 Piper Professor
By Melissa C. Rodriguez, Public Affairs Representative
Posted: 04/29/2009
Share |
Dr. Kenneth L. Buckman, associate professor in The University of Texas-Pan American’s Department of History and Philosophy, was named a 2009 Piper Professor by the Minnie Stevens Piper Foundation today.

UTPA Image
Dr. Kenneth L. Buckman

The Minnie Stevens Piper Foundation, a nonprofit, charitable corporation that began in 1958, honors 15 professors from across the state of Texas during each academic year for their dedication to the teaching profession and for their outstanding academic, scientific and scholarly achievement. Each college and university in the state may submit only one nomination. Each Piper Professor receives a certificate of merit, a gold pin and a $5,000 honorarium.

“I am so very proud to have received the Minnie Stevens Piper Award and yet profoundly aware that there are hundreds of worthy individuals in the state of Texas. I am further humbled with the realization that such an award comes from the extraordinary efforts of so many others and that these kinds of milestones are rarely isolable to one’s individual accomplishments,” Buckman said. “I am very, very honored.”

Buckman, who has been at the University since 1992, is also director of the Rafael A. "Felo" and Carmen Guerra Honors Program at the University. In addition to publishing numerous articles and presenting at conferences, he serves on several committees including president of the Texas Faculty Association, and the Texas State Teacher Association Board of Directors.

“Dr. Buckman has a long history at UTPA of helping students reach their full potential. His work, particularly with the Honors Program, is exemplary,” UTPA Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs Dr. Paul Sale said. “His peers believe that he is an excellent colleague to work with in the advancement of our students.”

Buckman was also the recent recipient of The University of Texas System’s 2009 Chancellor’s Council Award for Outstanding Teaching. The teaching award was established by the UT System Chancellor’s Council to recognize excellence in undergraduate teaching and is given each academic year to selected faculty at the UT System's nine general academic institutions.

He received his Ph.D. in philosophy from Southern Illinois University at Carbondale and both his master’s and bachelor’s in philosophy from Southern Illinois University at Edwardsville.

“I will carry the distinction with honor and will continue to embody the principles upon which it is bestowed,” Buckman said.