UTPA students named to 'Who's Who'
By Scott Maier, Senior Editor
Posted: 01/25/2002
Share |

Thirty-five students at The University of Texas-Pan American have been selected into the 2001-2002 edition of "Who's Who Among Students In American Universities And Colleges."

The honored students are Antonio Aguirre Jr.; Eduardo Alaniz Jr.; Margarita Anguiano; Melissa Arjona; Joy D. Cain; Claudia Cajiri; Cynthia Cano; Sandy Cantu; Aracely Cavazos; Vito Chavana; Cody Colchado Jr.; Ariana M. de la Garza; Michelle Duran; Melissa A. García; Daniel R. Gibbs; Rebecca Gonzalez; Daniel P. Hawes; Kelley Allyn Heller; and Radovan Kuzet.

Also, Devin Brian Lacey; Reshma Lakhiani; Lucy T. Ledesma; Hector Luna; Marvin B.J. Manns II; Isaías R. Martínez; Elisabet Mateos; Eric Alan Nava; Kathryn O'Neil; Flor L. Peñuelas; Adam Rice; Tania Rivas-Chavez; Lisa Ann Serna-Sánchez; Asheré D. Thigpen; Elias Torres Jr.; and Qiang Zeng.

There were 135 applicants to "Who's Who," and the final selections were made in January by the University's Awards and Recognition Committee.

To qualify, juniors and seniors must have at least a 3.0 grade point average, and graduate students must have at least 6 hours earned and a 3.5 GPA. Selections are made based on academic excellence and leadership, as demonstrated by involvement in campus and community activities.

These students will be recognized at the 23rd Annual Awards and Recognition Convocation, Sunday, April 21.

Now in its 68th year, the publication features students from nearly 2,000 institutions from all 50 states, the District of Columbia and several foreign countries.

For more information, contact the UTPA Dean of Students office at 956/381-2260.