Office for Sustainability honored at 2013 Texas Environmental Excellence Awards banquet
Contact: Christy Mendoza, intern/writer (956) 665-2741
Posted: 05/09/2013
Share |
Pictured (left to right) at the TEEA ceremony in Austin where UTPA's Office for Sustainabilty was recognized as an education category finalist for thier educational outreach are TCEQ Commissioner Toby Baker, staff member Naomi Keith, TCEQ Chairman Bryan W. Shaw, Ph.D., staff member Quina Rutledge, TCEQ Commissioner Carlos Rubinstein, UTPA Office for Sustainability Director Marianella Quiroga-Quintanilla, and staff member Monica Raygada.
The University of Texas-Pan American's Office for Sustainability received public recognition recently for their outstanding work in outreach and education at the annual Texas Environmental Excellence Awards (TEEA) ceremony held in Austin.

The office was named a finalist in the education category of the TEEA, initiated in 1993 by the Texas Commission on Environmental Quality (TCEQ). The TEEA recognizes and honors the state's most outstanding waste reduction and pollution prevention projects in coordination with TCEQ's goals to protect the state's human and natural resources and ensure clean air, water, and safe waste management.

At the annual luncheon to honor the winners and finalists in nine different categories, Governor Rick Perry, via video, celebrated the efforts of the organizations for showing leading-edge innovation and creativity in providing programs committed to the environment and in turn, inspiring other stewards of sustainability to follow their lead.

Marianella Quiroga-Quintanilla, director of UTPA's Sustainability Office, and staff members Quina Rutledge, Naomi Keith and Monica Raygada were presented their recognition award by TCEQ Commissioner and UTPA alumnus Carlos Rubinstein (BS '82), who thanked them for their contributions to promoting public awareness and education.

Read more about all of this year's TEEA winners here. To learn more about sustainability efforts at UTPA, go to the Office for Sustainability website.