ALEGRIA 2012 Concert Series begins Jan. 27 with dinner and show
Contact: Office of Public Afffairs (956) 665-2741
Posted: 01/23/2012
Share |

Come and enjoy a taste of Rio Grande Valley culture at the opening of Ballet Folklórico UT-Pan American's ALEGRIA 2012 concert season Jan. 27 with an exclusive premiere dinner and performance. Tickets for the event are $75 per person.

Dinner will be served at 6 p.m., followed by a premiere viewing of ALEGRIA 2012, a two-hour dance concert featuring the magic, charm and excitement of Mexico's dance art. Persons interested in attending the dinner show should R.S.V.P. to Dora Brown, Dinner Show Committee chair, at (956) 632-3589.

The concert series will continue for the general public on Jan. 28 and 29 at 2 p.m., Feb. 4, 5, 11, 12, 18 and 19 at 2 p.m., and Feb. 3, 10, and 17 at 7:30 p.m.

All concerts will be held at the UTPA Fine Arts Auditorium in Edinburg, Texas. Adult $10 presale tickets will be available at the IBC Bank Wal-Mart in-store branches Valleywide. Adult $12 tickets and child/student $7 tickets will be available at the door one hour before each show.

School concerts for public and private school students and their teachers will be held on Feb. 2 and 3 at 10 a.m. The school concerts are one hour in length and will be held at the Fine Arts Auditorium. The ticket price for the school concerts is $3 per student/teacher. Teachers interested in attending should call the Dance Office at (956) 665-2230 to request a reservation form.

The Ballet Folklórico UT-Pan American is under the artistic direction of Francisco Munoz. Members of the 2011-2012 Ballet Folklórico are: Neri Alfaro, Roberto Álvarez Jr., Vanessa Balderas, Jossué Barajas, Moisés Calzada, Sandra Elena Cantú, Betsayda Magin Cervantes, Esther Colín, Ricardo Covarrubias, Samiha Joanne Cruz, Ricardo Fernández, Karla Flores, Ricardo Flores, Raúl Galván, Ana Karen García, Juan Antonio García, Javier García Jr., Zeidy Enedy Garza, Priscilla Hazel Gomez, Erika Yazmín González, Alejandra Guzmán-Barrenechea, Luis Huerta, Aracely Longoria, Juan Carlos López, Mónica Martínez, Tanya Miller, Isaac Pena, Miguel Ángel Peña, Rafael Ramirez, Víctor Rincón, José Rivas, Kristina Rodriguez, Cristóbal Rojas, María Elena Sánchez, Norma Raquel Silva, Andrew Smith, Max Ivan Tijerina, and Samir Vega.

For more information contact the Dance Office at (956) 665-2230, or visit