Student leaders honored during UTPA Student Leadership Week
Posted: 05/02/2008
Share |
Five student leaders at The University of Texas-Pan American were honored during the Salute the Leaders Awards Luncheon held April 17 as part of the annual National Student Leadership Week held April 14-19. Now in its fourth year, the program hosted by the UTPA Student Leadership Academy and Program, honors outstanding University leaders for campus and community involvement. Students are nominated based on academic achievement, demonstrated leadership and/or service to community. Forty-four students were nominated. Pictured are award recipients Melissa Hernandez, graduate student in occupational therapy, Pharr; Cruz Rios, senior communication major, Edinburg; Diana Cepeda, senior biology major, Los Fresnos; and Maria Hinojosa, senior bilingual education major, Donna. Not pictured is James Berglund, senior biology major, Corpus Christi. For more information on the Student Leadership Academy, contact Amy Martin, program coordinator, at 956/381-2262.