Business honor society at UTPA inducts new members
Posted: 04/03/2007
Share |

The College of Business Administration at The University of Texas-Pan American inducted 28 students and three faculty members into the Beta Gamma Sigma business honor society during a March 29 ceremony on campus.

Beta Gamma Sigma recognizes the most outstanding students of business at institutions accredited by AACSB International - The Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business. Since its founding in 1913, Beta Gamma Sigma has established 456 collegiate chapters in all 50 U.S. states and 16 countries and inducted more than 560,000 students.

Pictured are some of the new members of the business honor society Beta Gamma Sigma at the induction ceremony held March 29 at UTPA.
Inductees for 2006-07 included doctoral students Daniel Perez (Edinburg) and Jose Salas (Chile); graduate student Paul Stingley (Harlingen); senior undergraduate students Randy Auger (Harlingen), Erika Baldazo (Edinburg), Jeff David Bearden (McAllen), David Cepeda (McAllen), Jesus De Leon (Mission), Perla De Leon (Edinburg), Robby Escareño (Pharr), Niria Vanessa Flores (Burgos, Tamps., Mexico), Wendy Garza (Edinburg), Bruce Griffiths (McAllen), Dominique Neda Hassanpour (Mission), Cinthya Hernandez (Weslaco), Sharwanda Monique Johnson (Dickinson, Texas), Joseph Michael Kamel (Mission), Connie Kiefer (Raymondville), Jorge Emmanuel Lopez (McAllen), Crystal Martinez (Alamo), Miguel A. Martinez (Mission), Gabriela Quiñones (Reynosa, Tamps., Mexico), Carlos Ramirez (San Juan), Omar Rodriguez (McAllen), Brenda Silva (San Juan), Ana Tobias (McAllen); and junior undergraduate students Emily Bassham (Mission) and Valerie Escobedo (McAllen).

Members of the faculty and/or administration also inducted were Dr. Paul Sale, provost and vice president for academic affairs; Dr. George Avellano, professor, College of Business Administration; and Dr. Stephen Owusu-Ansah, associate professor, College of Business Administration.

Serving as president of the UTPA chapter of Beta Gamma Sigma is Dr. Hale Kaynak, associate professor of operations management in the Department of Management, Marketing and International Business in the College of Business Administration.

To be eligible for membership, students must be enrolled in a business program at a school accredited by AACSB International that has a Beta Gamma Sigma chapter and be in the upper seven percent of the junior class, upper 10 percent of the senior class, upper 20 percent of the graduating master's class, or completed all requirements to receive a doctorate. Administrators, faculty and research staff can also meet requirements to be invited into the honor society.

For more information on Beta Gamma Sigma, log on to