Phi Theta Kappa Alumni Honor Association at UTPA recognizes scholars
Posted: 01/05/2007
Share |

The Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) Alumni Honor Association at The University of Texas-Pan American paid tribute to students for their outstanding academic achievements and exemplary citizenship during an induction ceremony held at UTPA this fall semester.

Founded in 1918, the PTK Honor Society recognizes college students with excellent scholarship and character and provides enrichment in four hallmarks: scholarship, leadership, service and fellowship. It has more than 1,100 chapters in all 50 states and some 80,000 members abroad.

Pictured at the recent induction ceremony for the Phi Theta Kappa Alumni Honor Association at UTPA are association members Jeanette Ferry-Gomez, president; Nora Marichalar; Marta A. Salinas, vice president; Normita C. Garza; Stefanny Rivera, secretary; Dr. Shirley A. Reed, South Texas College president and induction ceremony keynote speaker; Diana Trevino, historian; Jessica G. Sims and Mary De Leon, UTPA staff member and PTK Alumni Honor Association adviser.
The PTK Alumni Honor Association at UTPA, chartered in 2002, supports and promotes the people, programs and priorities of the society and encourages communication and affiliation among all alumni and friends. One of its principal objectives is serving a mentorship role to two-year college chapter members transferring to senior institutions. Members assist the transfer students in their social and educational adjustments to the rigors of university life and encourage continued scholarship for PTK Honor Society members to ensure a smooth transition as well as continued academic success.

Serving as keynote speaker at the induction ceremony was Dr. Shirley Reed, founding president of South Texas College (STC). She spoke about the honor society's four hallmarks to an audience of faculty, family and friends of the honored inductees, who recently graduated from STC and transferred to UTPA. This year, the PTK Alumni Honor Association members adopted STC's PTK Beta Epsilon Mu chapter mentoring them throughout their transfer and establishing an intellectual climate for the exchange of ideas and ideals. They worked in collaboration with Sara Orta, president, and Mary Jane Ramirez, vice president, of the STC Beta Epsilon Mu chapter under the guidance of Anthony Ramirez, STC faculty adviser.

"All undergraduate transfer students who have been inducted into the Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society at any two-year college are invited to become members of the UTPA Phi Theta Kappa Alumni Honor Association to enjoy this selective all-discipline honor society, continue achieving scholarly distinction, serve the community and share in fellowship activities," said Jeanette Ferry-Gomez, president of the 2006-2007 PTK Alumni Honor Association at UTPA.

Other officers include Marta A. Salinas, vice-president; Stefanny Rivera, secretary; Maria C. Saucedo, parliamentarian and Diana Trevino, historian. The officers were officially installed by Mary De Leon, UTPA staff member and association adviser. Also inducted were alumni members Jessica G. Sims, Normita C. Garza and Nora Marichalar. They join current alumni members Claudia Coronado, Debra Carranza and Jacqueline D. Bruce, past president.

Reed encouraged inductees to continue to be service-oriented on campus as well as in the community, stressing the importance of helping others. She also commended the inductees for their exceptional academic accomplishments and community involvement, and wished them well as they embark in the unique and challenging educational experience at UTPA.

All PTK Honor Society members in good standing who complete a transfer admissions application and enroll as full-time students at UTPA are eligible to apply for the UTPA PTK Transfer Scholarship. To be considered for this scholarship, the student must have a cumulative 3.5 GPA, two letters of recommendation and official transcripts of all colleges attended. Application submission deadline for the fall semester is May 1 and the deadline for the spring semester is October 1.

For more information about the UTPA PTK Alumni Honor Association, contact Ferry-Gomez at or De Leon at You many also visit to learn more about the organization, its mission and its members.