UTPA chapter of Beta Gamma Sigma inducts 38 new members
Posted: 05/09/2006
Share |

The College of Business Administration at The University of Texas-Pan American inducted 34 undergraduate and graduate students and four faculty members into Beta Gamma Sigma honor society during an April 13 ceremony on campus.

Beta Gamma Sigma is a business honor society with more than 500,000 members and 430 collegiate chapters in all 50 U.S. states and 11 countries that recognizes the most outstanding students of business at institutions accredited by AACSB International - The Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business.

New members of the business honor society Beta Gamma Sigma are pictured with Dr. Hale Kaynak UTPA chapter president (center with BGS flag), and UTPA President Dr. Blandina Cárdenas (right of Kaynak) at the induction ceremony April 13 on the UTPA campus.
"Membership in Beta Gamma Sigma provides the highest honor a business student anywhere in the world can receive in an undergraduate or master's program at a school accredited by AACSB International," said Dr. Hale Kaynak, associate professor of operations management in the Department of Management, Marketing and International Business in the College of Business Administration. Kaynak is president of the UTPA chapter of Beta Gamma Sigma.

To be eligible students must be enrolled in a business program at a school accredited by AACSB International that has a chapter of Beta Gamma Sigma and be in the upper seven percent of the junior class, upper 10 percent of the senior class, upper 20 percent of the graduating master's class, or completed all requirements to receive a doctorate. Administrators, faculty and research staff can also meet requirements to be invited into the honor society.

The induction ceremony was highlighted by the reading of Beta, Gamma, and Sigma by UTPA chapter student members Chris Simoes, Jo Anne Garcia and Joel Castañeda respectively.

Student inductees for 2005-06 included Graciela Bianco, Laura Cantu, Perla Judith Cantú, Rachel C. Chapa, Veronica Chavarria, Michael Allen Cobb, Dustin Wesley Cook, William Martin Cornwell, Blanca Azucena de la Mora, Giana Garza, Crystal Elyse Gonzales, Florinda Grossman, Anna Isabel Guerra, Daisy Hernandez, Erick Javier Hurtado, Cassandra René Kramer, Yesenia Karin Lopez, Reynaldo Lucio Jr., David Martinez Jr., Juan Antonio Martinez Jr., Anna Laura Mendoza, Jonathan Ross Montgomery, Tracy Ann Oswell, Jaime Ramos, Lucio Teodoro Ruiz, Ryan Nicholas Russell, Patricia Saenz, Jessica Erin Schach, Elysia Sloan, Martha Cecilia Tamez, Norberto Tinoco, Cynthia Vargas, Priti Verma, and Elsa Marcela Villarreal.

Faculty inductees were Dr. A. Fuat Firat, chair of the Department of Management, Marketing and International Business; Dr. Glen David Moyes, associate professor of accounting and business law; and Dr. Marc William Simpson, assistant professor of finance. Also inducted was UTPA president Dr. Blandina Cárdenas, who addressed the students and family members who gathered for the ceremony.

"The honor of which your loved ones received today was hard-won. I thought of all the hours and the choices you made to put in the extra effort to hone your skills and knowledge to reach this level today," said Cárdenas. She encouraged inductees to pursue business development at the highest ethical standards possible and to reach out and help upcoming students as they had been helped in the pursuit of their education and career goals.

COBA Dean Dr. John T. Emery also congratulated the inductees and spoke to them about returning to UTPA to obtain their graduate degrees.

"I also want your first and second born to come back and be a part of this great University," he said. For more information on Beta Gamma Sigma, log on to