International English Honor Society at UTPA inducts 26 founding members
Posted: 08/05/2004
Share |

The International English Honor Society at The University of Texas Pan American inducted 26 founding members May 7 at the UTPA Media Theatre. Eight of the inductees were graduating seniors.

The UTPA English Honor Society inducted 26 founding member during a ceremony May 7. Pictured above from left to right are officers and faculty advisors: Dr. Douglas LaPrade, SigmaTau Delta Alumnus; Stephanie McCarthy, historian; Desirae Aguirre, treasurer; Gina Guzman, secretary and membership chair; Sonia Olivarez, vice president; Rebecca Salinas, public relations director; Jeanette Ferry-Gomez, president; and Professor Barbara Vielma, faculty advisor.

The new co-ed honor society was created during the spring 2004 semester and is known as Sigma Tau Delta- Alpha Lambda Psi. It is designed to confer distinction for high achievement in undergraduate, graduate and professional studies in English language and literature.

The society aims to provide cultural stimulation on college campuses, furnish community interest within English departments and encourage creative and critical writing.

One of the largest members of the Association of College Honor Societies, Sigma Tau Delta has more than 600 active chapters, more than 900 faculty sponsors and inducts approximately 7,000 members annually.

Members have the opportunity to be recognized for their outstanding achievements, enrich their education, and receive assistance with career choices and advance in their careers.

Undergraduate students who have either a major or minor in English are eligible for active membership. Undergraduate students who are not English majors or minors but who meet the academic standards and are interested in literature or language are eligible to become associate members.

The student must have taken at least two literature courses beyond the freshman requirements, have a 3.0 grade point average in English, ranked in the highest 35 percent of the class in general scholarship (cumulative scholastic record), or have a cumulative 3.0 gpa, and must have completed three semesters or five quarters of the college course.

Graduate students who have graduated with scholastic rating within the upper 20 percent of the class are eligible for membership. There is a one-time international membership fee of $37 and $15 for local chapter dues.

This year's inductees are Anastacio Armijo III, Melissa Elizondo, Elizabeth Garcia, Lily Garza, Sean Getchell, Eduardo Gonzalez, Stephanie McCarthy, and Sylvia Salazar, all graduating seniors; James Brown; Veronica Chavez; Julie Doyle; Angela Dunn; Monica Escamilla; Christina Garza; Jeanette-Ferry Gomez, president; Desirae Aguirre, treasurer; Gina Guzman, secretary; Kristina Jaramillo; Abigail Lewsader; Stevie Luera; Sonia Olivarez, vice president; Norma Ortega; Lydia Ramirez; Rebecca Salinas, public relations officer; Liana Setti; and Julio Zermeno.

This year's faculty advisors are Barbara Vielma, English department lecturer and Dr. Lee Hamilton, professor of English. Other faculty attending the induction ceremony were Dr. Jerry Price, Dean of Students; Dr. Steven Schneider, chair of the English department; and Dr. Douglas LaPrade, English professor and alumnus of Sigma Tau Delta.

To learn more about the English Honor Society log on to or call the UTPA Department of English at 956/381-3421. For more information also contact Salinas at or Guzman at