High school students participate in computer science contest at UTPA
Posted: 04/29/2004
Share |

The Department of Computer Science at The University of Texas-Pan American organized the 14th Annual High School Programming Contest Saturday, April 17 at the UTPA Engineering Building.

More than 18 teams from eight high schools, seven from the Rio Grande Valley and one from Waller (40 miles northwest of Houston), competed in the contest. The contest involved 13 problems ranging in points from 10-30.

The winning teams included Waller High School - Jonathan Timer, Justin Harmon and Shaun Sherman - which scored 210 points after solving 12 of the 13 problems for first place.

Pictured left to right are the first place winners of the competition from Waller High School - Scotty Johnson (school sponsor), Justin Harmon, Shaun Sherman, Jonathan Timmer, Gustavo Dietrich (chair) and David Egle (judge).
Second and third place went to teams from the Science Academy - Langtian Lang, Kevin Montrose and Ben Salinas, and Waller High School - Daniel Blaylock, Brent Leith and Tristan Santibanez. The second and third place winners were considered a tie.

A team from Weslaco - Dathan Boward and Troy Wipf - obtained fourth place, while fifth went to Mission Veterans Memorial High School, which was represented by one member - Patricia Pacheco. Fourth and fifth were also ties. Every team was able to solve at least one problem.

Gustavo Dietrich, UTPA Department of Computer Science faculty, chaired the competition.

The UTPA Department of Computer Science would like to thank the following school sponsors for bringing their students to participate in the weekend event: Luis Chaire (Mission), Fernando Izaguirre (Veterans Memorial), Scott Johnson (Waller), Andy Medina (La Joya), Robert Medrano (Weslaco), Dalia Moore (Harlingen), Miguel Ramirez (Edinburg North), and David Wood (Science Academy).

The department would also like to thank the judges David Egle and Dr. Ping-Sing Tsai of the UTPA Department of Computer Science and Guillermo Cabrera, Joshua Ceaser, Marco Gutierrez and Brandon Meiners of the UTPA Association for Computer Machinery chapter.