Finalists for UTPA presidency named by UT System Board of Regents
Posted: 04/19/2004
Share |

The University of Texas System Board of Regents announced seven finalists Monday, April 19 for the presidency of The University of Texas-Pan American to succeed Dr. Miguel A. Nevárez, who is stepping down this year after 23 years as the University's president.

The Board announced the finalists after considering recommendations of an advisory committee that reviewed nominations and applications for the position.

The finalists include the following candidates:

Dr. Blandina Cardenas, dean of the College of Education and Human Development, UT San Antonio. Cardenas is also a professor of educational leadership and previously was an executive at the American Council on Education and served on the U.S. Commission on Civil Rights.

Dr. Lynda Y. de la Viña, associate dean and director of the Graduate Division of Business and Management and chair of the Department of Finance and International Business, Johns Hopkins University. De la Viña, an economist, is also a senior policy advisor with the U.S. Mexico Foundation and U.S. Mexico Chamber of Commerce. She is a former deputy assistant secretary for economic policy development coordination in the U.S. Department of the Treasury and also a former associate dean of the College of Business at UT San Antonio.

Dr. Tim Hudson, provost and vice president for Academic Affairs, University of Southern Mississippi. Hudson is also professor of geography and executive director of the Center for International and Continuing Education.

Dr. Herman Lujan, provost and vice president for Academic Affairs, California State University, Los Angeles. He is also a professor of political science. Lujan previously served as president of the University of Northern Colorado and was an administrator and faculty member at the University of Washington and the University of Kansas.

Dr. Lois Muir, provost and vice president for Academic Affairs, University of Montana. Muir, a psychologist, is a former administrator and faculty member at Kent State University, Kennesaw State University and the University of Wisconsin at La Crosse.

Dr. Richard A. Navarro, a senior project officer for the United Nations Children's Fund (UNICEF). Navarro was dean of the College of Education and Integrative Studies at California State Polytechnic University and was a former faculty member at Michigan State University.

Dr. Fernando M. Treviño, dean of the School of Public Health at the University of North Texas Health Science Center. Treviño is also professor of health management and policy and previously served as a faculty member at Texas State University, UT Health Science Center at Houston and UT Medical Branch-Galveston. He is a former executive director of the American Public Health Association.

"The finalists whom the Board of Regents has named today are distinguished leaders capable of taking UT Pan American to a higher level of prominence in teaching, research, and public service," said Board of Regents' Chairman Charles Miller. "We look forward to interviews with the finalists and to receiving input from campus and community constituencies as we move toward the appointment of the next president."

An 18-member Presidential Search Advisory Committee, chaired by Dr. Teresa A. Sullivan, executive vice chancellor for Academic Affairs for the UT System, was formed in October 2003 to advise the UT System Board of Regents on the selection. The committee included representatives of campus constituencies as well as the University's external community, in accordance with the Board of Regents' rules. Current UT System Chancellor Mark G. Yudof also served on the committee.

"I want to thank and commend the Search Committee members who have worked hard and dedicated a great deal of time to this project. They have come up with a very impressive list of qualified and capable candidates. Now the goal is to determine who is the best fit for this University and its development over the next decade," Nevárez said.

Nevárez has served the University 32 years and he is the longest serving Hispanic president of a university in the United States.

Campus visits by the finalists will be scheduled soon and will include meetings with students, staff, faculty, department chairs, deans, alumni and community members.

Under state law, university governing boards must name finalists for a presidency at least 21 days before making an appointment. A meeting at which the UT System board will make a final decision has not yet been scheduled.

For more information, log on to or contact the UT System Office of Public Affairs at 512/499-4363.