First annual intramural flag football championship held at UTPA
Posted: 11/05/2003
Share |

The Intramural Recreational Sports Department at The University of Texas- Pan American hosted the first annual Valley Bowl Intramural Flag Football Championship at the new UTPA Intramural Recreation Fields Saturday, November 1.

Team members pictured here from left to right in the front row are: Ricky Salinas, Osbaldo Vela, Emmanuel Rodriguez, and in the back row Rafael Mancias, Luis Pena, Ray Salinas, Leo Mireles, Danny Flores, Ben Ramos, Alex Barrera, and Ivan Rodriguez.

This first-ever double elimination competition drew eight intramural teams from area colleges and universities.

Among the teams competing were Corruption and Wolfpack from South Texas Community College, Scorpions from the University of Texas-Brownsville, G-Unit and Soul Rippers from Texas State Technical College. Also competing were the Vipers, Stallions and Gamblers from UTPA.

The Stallions from UTPA emerged as champions with a 7-1 record after defeating the UTB Scorpions 26-18 in the championship game.