UTPA Alumni Association introduces new members
Posted: 06/22/2001
Share |

The University of Texas-Pan American Alumni Association welcomed new board members and staff at an orientation meeting June 18 at the President's Boardroom.

New members are David Armstrong, MBA '94 of McAllen; David Bridgewater, BBA '96 of McAllen; Felipe Cavazos, MBA '98 of McAllen; and James Martinez, BBA '96 of Mercedes.

During the meeting, Jaime Tijerina was also introduced as the new Alumni Association president. Phyllis Hitchins, former director of the UTPA Alumni Relations Office, was presented as the new director of Special Projects and will oversee the Shary-Shivers Estate. Debby Grant, University Development Office development specialist, will replace Hutchins as director.

Also at the orientation were Roland S. Arriola, vice president for External Affairs; James R. Langabeer, vice president for Business Affairs; Dr. John Edwards, vice president for Enrollment and Student Services; and Dr. George Avellano, associate vice president for Academic Affairs. Each spoke about the active role the Alumni Association plays in the University.

Arriola invited members to help renew ties with Houston alumni by holding special events in the area. He personally will be meeting with corporate America prospects in Houston in September.

Langabeer thanked the members for their service and support to UTPA.