Pre-Medical/Bio-Medical Society named Organization of the Year
Contact: University Relations 381-2741
Posted: 05/11/2001
Share |

This year's winner of the Organization of the Year Award from the Office of Student Development is the Pre-Medical/Bio-Medical Society.

Accepting the Organization of Year Award for the Pre-Medical/Bio-Medical Society are, from left, Amanda E. Garza, Venessa Agado, Rene I. Luna, Arleen Presas and Joy De Los Reyes.

Established in 1985, the Pre-Medical/Bio-Medical Society promotes cooperation and contacts among pre-medical and pre-health related educators. Members not only host and attend a number of health-related seminars through the year, but they also are active in community.

The organization has participated in numerous charity events and service projects, including the Arthritis Jingle Bell Run, Edinburg Halloween Trick-or-Treating, the HEB Feast of Sharing, the RGV Food Bank, the Ronald McDonald Charity House, the South Padre Island Beach Clean Up, the Student Government Association Adopt-An-Angel, the UTPA Can Food Drive and the Parent/Child Day Picnic.

Dr. Scott Gunn, biology associate professor, is Pre-Medical/Bio-Medical Society advisor. Through his guidance and work by organization members, it has sponsored or attended workshops with the Galveston Medical School/Baylor College of Dentistry, New York Medical School, Southwestern Medical School, Texas Osteopathic Medical School and Texas Tech Medical School.