15 named Notable Valley Hispanics
Contact: Scott Maier, Senior Editor 381-3639
Posted: 09/15/2000
Share |

The University of Texas-Pan American Friends of the Library will recognize 15 Rio Grande Valley leaders as "Notable Valley Hispanics" in a special ceremony Sunday, Oct. 1.

The sixth annual "Notable Valley Hispanics" ceremony, which coincides with National Hispanic Heritage Month (Sept. 15 to Oct. 15), will be at the UTPA Media Theater at 2 p.m.

Inductees will have a biography, photograph and items representing their lives on display at the UTPA Library.

The 15 "Notable Valley Hispanics" for 2000 are Jose Luis Betancourt of Corpus Christi, retired U.S. Navy rear admiral; David Champion of Weslaco, Hispanic music events; Irma Garcia of Mission, community service; Mariella Gorena of McAllen, school district and civic organizations; Francisco Guajardo of Edinburg, Llano Grande Research Project; Ricardo Gutierrez of Rio Grande City, government and community activities; Roy De Leon of Mercedes, civic organizations; L. Aron Pena of Edinburg, legal and church groups; and Mario Reyna of McAllen, physical education.

Also, Alejo Salinas Jr. of Edinburg, educator; Ofelia de la Santos of Edinburg, lawyer and civic organizations; Mary Lou Trevino of McAllen, community groups; Rosa Valencia of McAllen, civic programs; Ilda Vasquez of Weslaco, church and community activities; and Miguel Wise, state representative and civic organizations.

Inductees must have been born or now live in the Valley and involved in either civic and/or humanitarian activities.

"We are trying to recognize the important people, as well as the people who might be otherwise overlooked," said George Gause, UTPA Special Collections librarian. "I was very impressed to see the large number of people nominated again this year. The number of nominees just seems to be growing every year."

Last year's recipients were Roland Arriola, Mary Rosa Cardenas, Ramiro R. Casso, Eligio (Kika) de la Garza, Lucille de la Garza, Roberto de la Garza, Esther Pena Gonzalez, Ruben E. Hinojosa, Carolina Huerta, Arturo Longoria, Eustolia Perez, Sonia Perez, Roberto Robles, Gary Sauceda and Gilberto Zepeda.

For more information on the Notable Valley Hispanics ceremony, contact Gause at 956/381-2799.