UTPA Nursing Honor Society chartered as official international chapter of Sigma Theta Tau
Posted: 03/29/2000
Share |

EDINBURG - More than 100 nurse leaders from The University of Texas-Pan American will be inducted into the charter of Sigma Theta Tau International Honor Society of Nurses April 6 as the UTPA Nursing Honor Society becomes officially chartered.

The induction ceremony is at 7 p.m. at the University Ballroom.

Approval for the chapter was granted at the Sigma Theta Tau International biennial convention in November in San Diego, Calif.

More than 100 nurse leaders will be inducted, and charter members in this group and officers will be installed.

Membership in Sigma Theta Tau International is by invitation and is extended to undergraduate and graduate students, faculty and professional nurses who have demonstrated superior scholastic, leadership and nursing achievements.

Sigma Theta Tau International has more than 260,000 members in 383 chapters in colleges and universities throughout the United States, Canada, Korea, Taiwan and Australia.

The organization encourages and sponsors research, promotes the development of nursing leadership, and supports the development of nursing scholars.

Dignitaries scheduled to attend include Dr. Helen Castillo, dean of the College of Health Sciences and Human Services; Dr. Carolina Huerta, nursing department chair; Dr. Barbara Tucker, MSN program coordinator; and Dr. Sandy Sanchez, BSN program coordinator.

Dignitaries invited to attend include Gwen Sherwood, Christelle Bray, local, state and national officials, hospital administrators, chief nurse executives, and UTPA academic administrators.

For more information, contact Shannon Dowdall of the UTPA Nursing -Department at 956/381-3491.