UT Pan American Foundation elects new officers for '97-98
Contact: Janice Odom
Posted: 10/29/1997
Share |

Austin attorney Jon Dee Lawrence is the new chairman of The University of Texas-Pan American Foundation Board of Trustees, succeeding Morgan Talbot of McAllen.

Lawrence, who retired in 1990 as vice president and associate general counsel for Texas for Southwestern Bell Telephone Company, has served on the Pan American Foundation board since 1988. A native of Edinburg, he is a 1957 graduate of Pan American University and earned his law degree at The University of Texas at Austin Law School in 1960.

Other officers elected at the fall board meeting at International Bank of Commerce in McAllen Sept. 26 were first vice chairman Roel (Roy) Martinez of McAllen, second vice chairman Herm Wille of New York City, secretary John Martin of Edinburg and treasurer Bill Ellis Jr. of McAllen. New trustees elected at the fall meeting were Randy McKee of Dallas, vice president-Central Zone, Blockbuster Entertainment, and rancher-investor Virginia Lee Garcia Heath of Rancho Sacsayhuaman near Raymondville.

Also joining the board representing their respective organizations were Terry B. Miller of Mission, president of the UTPA Foundation's International Women's Board, and Roberto (Bob) Gutierrez Jr., president of the UTPA Alumni Association.

The next meeting of the Board of Trustees will be January 30, 1998, on the UT Pan American campus.